

OSHP General Membership Meeting Minutes September 16, 2012 2:00 p.m. 201 Market St.

Attendees: Pamela Crary, Duane Draper, Tom Elmer, Pam Elmer, Theresa Fosbinder, Querida Funck, Mary Gooze, Rob Gooze, Matt Hill, Nick Kapusta, Gerry Karlen, Sarah Karlen, Andrew Leone, Jen Nichols, Pete Nichols, Jeanne O'Malley, Nicholas Olsen, Tina Root, John Unertl, Johnny Unertl, David Wood, Ryan Wood, Patty Zach

2011-2012 Board Members: Wade Crary, Joel Kapusta, David Lawver, Joe Leone, Emily Richardson, Dan Subach, Julie Wood, Caitlin Zach, Steve Zach

The meeting was called to order at 2:14 p.m. by President Steve Zach.

Joe Leone moved acceptance of the agenda, Tom Elmer seconded. Carried.

Joel Kapusta moved, Caitlin Zach seconded approval of last year's minutes as corrected. Carried.

Caitlin Zach, Treasurer, presented the financial report:

Total Cash Assets \$26, 914.78

The CD was liquidated and applied toward the building mortgage

Questions were raised about accounting for the separate building budget. We will continue efforts to provide that.

Steve Zach, President, presented his report:

Steve is stepping down from the board, which has been cooperative and functional. He expressed his thanks to all.

Positives:

- Stayed close to our mission
- Presented two high quality productions
- Exposed young people to theatre
- Building essentially completed
- Financially viable
- Continued community presence

Things to work on:

- Fundraising, especially to pay off the building
- Develop more production staff, especially producers
- Audience development
- Work on a 5-10 year vision plan, including for facilities
- Value our assets
- Account for the building fund
- Press the Oregon School District to include the arts in its metrics

Artistic Policies Report (David Lawver):

Success of both productions was due to outstanding efforts on the part of all staff. 2013 productions: *Disney's Alice in Wonderland Jr*. directed by Katie Monk and *Oliver!* with David directing. Choice of *Oliver!* was driven by notably increased interest in this year's shows by boys who are age-appropriate to the project. Both shows urgently need producers.

The board presented a proposed amendment of the bylaws, to substitute the following language for the first sentence of Article II, Section 2, paragraph (a):

A person shall become a regular member once they have actively participated in an Oregon Straw Hat Players production or other organized activity. A person shall remain a member until September 30th of the year that is 3 years after their most recent participation.

Discussion. Pam Crary moved to table the question. David Lawver seconded. Carried.

Presentation of 2012 awards:

Hats Off! awards to Pam Elmer, Caleb Mathura, Christopher Phistry, Karen Weber, and Patty Zach

Duane Draper Lifetime Achievement Award to Sarah Karlen

Elections:

- Nominations for the board: Duane Draper, Nick Kapusta, John Unertl, Caitlin Zach. Duane Draper moved, Pete Nichols second, that the nominations be closed and a unanimous ballot be cast for the slate as nominated. Carried.
- Nomination for President: Duane Draper. David Lawver moved, Wade Crary second, that the nominations be closed and a unanimous ballot be cast for the nominee. Carried.
- Nomination for Vice-President: Julie Wood. Joel Kapusta moved, David Lawver second, that the nominations be closed and a unanimous ballot be cast for the nominee. Carried.
- Nomination for Treasurer: Caitlin Zach. Joel Kapusta moved, Emily Richardson second, that the nominations be closed and a unanimous ballot be cast for the nominee. Carried.
- Nomination for Secretary: David Lawver. Joel Kapusta moved, Caitlin Zach second, that the nominations be closed and a unanimous ballot be cast for the nominee. Carried.

Good of the order:

- Thanks to the departing board members, Joel Kapusta, Dan Subach, and Steve Zach.
- Thanks to all who worked on productions this year, and to all who worked on the building.
- College scholarships this year were awarded to Jessica Brooke, Samantha Elmer, Nathan Fosbinder, Eric Nett, Tiffany Root, Alexander Smith, and William Subach.
- Dee Baldock is retiring from her post as director of the Performing Arts Center. Steve Zach will send a letter of appreciation for all her help during her tenure.

Joel Kapusta moved to adjourn, Chris Phistry second. Carried.

The meeting adjourned at 3:54 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

David Lawver, Secretary